For more info, see Email

Board of Directors

Version of: Thu, 23 May 2019 14:34:11 +0100, soc_web_banner_left.html


SOC Event

Thursday, 28 March 2019 6:00 PM London
Outlook for Global Energy Markets

Spencer Dale, Group Chief Economist, BP

The Geological Society Burlington House London W1J 0BG Map

Sponsorship is provided by Gneiss Energy Limited, Anderson Anderson & Brown LLP, Pinsent Masons LLP, RBC Capital Markets, and Scottish Oil Club.

This event occurred on: Thursday, 28 March 2019, 6 p.m.

See also:


Major event funding provided by Gneiss Energy Limited

Major Funding Provided by Anderson Anderson & Brown LLP

Major Funding Provided by Pinsent Masons LLP

Major Funding Provided by RBC Capital Markets.

Major Funding Provided by Scottish Oil Club


Spencer will consider the outlook for global energy markets over the next 20 years, and some of the key issues and uncertainties this raises for the energy industry. How will the energy system respond to the dual challenge of providing ‘more energy and less carbon’? What role are oil and natural gas likely to play as energy markets transition to a lower carbon energy system? What more needs to be done to ensure the global energy system is on a pathway consistent with meeting the Paris climate goals?


Spencer Dale is group chief economist of BP plc. He manages BP’s global economics team, providing economic input into the firm’s commercial decisions. BP’s economics team also produces the annual Statistical Review of World Energy and Global Energy Outlook.

Spencer Dale joined BP as group chief economist in October 2014. Prior to that, he was executive director for financial stability at the Bank of England and a member of the Financial Policy Committee. Between 2008 and 2014, Spencer was chief economist of the Bank of England and a member of the Monetary Policy Committee. Spencer joined the Bank of England in 1989 and served in numerous roles, including private secretary to Mervyn King and head of economic forecasting. Spencer served as a senior advisor at the US Federal Reserve Board of Governors between 2006 and 2008.

Version of: Mon, 20 May 2019 15:31:19 +0100 event_template.html